How it works

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

What is cinefile?                                                                 

Cinefile is a movie site that combines all relevant information about the entire Swiss cinema programme with a curated streaming offer and bonus material on all important films, to be precise:

  • CINEMA: The complete cinema programme of Switzerland, with summaries, trailers, ratings and short reviews in German, French and English, arranged or filtered according to your preferences. You can save all films you are interested in in your personal watchlist and sort them according to various criteria.
  • STREAMING: A selection of the best new cinema films for pay per view, continuously supplemented by reprises and classics, all in HD and original version with freely selectable subtitles, partly also in German or French dubbed version.
  • BONUS: Meetings, video essays, live interviews, portraits of all streaming and many cinema films. And above all: thousands of trouvaillas from the worldwide network of cinefiles.

 

Who runs cinefile? 

Cinefile is a limited liability company based in Zurich, which was established by the former film journalist and cinema operator Andreas Furler as from 2016. It went live in June 2018.

The small cinefile team consists of afficionados/as from the fields of film journalism, film science, marketing and is geographically at home in Switzerland, Germany and France.

 

Who will cinefile reach?

Cinefile is a practical, free and advertising-financed service for all people who like to go to the cinema and are looking for practical tools to quickly choose a film.

Our streaming library focuses on international and national arthouse cinema and is highly selective: we separate the wheat from the chaff and only publish what we think is worth seeing, whether arthouse or mainstream, classic or the latest indie cinema. The films are currently only available for pay per view, but we are working intensively on a flat rate offer. (More about this at the question "What is in development at cinefile?")

The bonus material for the individual films mixes videos and texts and is aimed at people who want to broaden their view before or after the viewing experience in an entertaining way. It gathers critiques, interviews, portraits and essays that offer deepening, enriching and controversial approaches. As this service is expensive, the bonus material is reserved for our paying premium subscribers.

 

What's the point if I subscribe to cinefile?

The basic registration at cinefile is free of charge and guarantees that your personal settings including your persoal watchlist are always up-to-date on all devices. The premium subscription (CHF 6.- per month) keeps cinefile free of advertising, offers access to bonus material and discounts on individual art house chains and events. You can find the comparative service overview here.

 

Is there a newsletter?                                                                                           

Yes, it contains weekly tips on current cinema and streaming premieres as well as news on cinema events and cinefile. If you register with cinefile as a basic or premium subscriber, you will automatically receive the newsletter, but you can, of course, unsubscribe.

 

On which devices can I use cinefile and watch cinefile movies?

You can use cinefile with all common devices and browsers, the website automatically recognizes desktop computers and laptops, tablets and smartphones and offers a correspondingly optimized responsive design.
Cinefile movies can be streamed with all common devices and browsers as well.
For smartphones, we recommend downloading our free apps from Apple's App Store or Google's Play Store and streaming movies wirelessly to your TV using Google Chromecast or the Apple TV Box.    

 

Is cinefile also available as an app?

Yes, the version for Android devices like Samsung and Huawei is already available in the Google Playstore; the iPhone app will be ready by mid-September 2019.

 

How can I watch rented films?

You must be online to stream cinefile movies.
You can watch our streaming movies with all popular browsers on all popular desktop and laptop computers, tablets and smartphones. Connect your laptop with an HDMI cable to the corresponding socket of your TV set. The wirelss conncetion with teh Apple TV box or Googel Chromecast is more convenient, though, and nowadays often results in better picture quality. In the the tow sections below we tell you how it works:

 

Apple TV for Apple devices

  • Connect your Apple TV box to your TV with an HDMI cable.
  • Make sure that the box is registered in the same WiFi network as the Apple device (laptop, iPhone or iPad) that you use to stream cinefile movies. Only use the Safari browser.

In your cinefile browser window, click on the AirPlay icon in the lower right corner. Ready!

Attention: With the audio symbol and hte cc symbols you can select the available language and subtitle versions at any time. To end the transfer, click the Air Play icon again.

 

Google Chromecast for Windows and Android devices

  • Connect your Chromecast plug to the TV with an HDMI cable.
  • Make sure Chromecast is connected to the same WLAN network as your laptop, tablet or smartphone that you use to stream cinefile movies. Only use the Chrome-Browser.
  • In your cinefile browser window, click on the Chromecast symbol in the lower right corner and select your Chromecast connector under the name you have defined. Ready!

Note: Previously selected language version and subtitles may be lost when activating the transmission and may have to be reactivated on your laptop, tablet or smartphone. You can change available language versions and subtitles at any time. To end the transfer, click the Chromecast icon again.

 

"What's in development at cinefile?"

Flatrate streaming: We are currently working intensively on a streaming flatrate subscription for a limited number of films that are constantly renewed. The corresponding offer will go online in October. The previous streaming films for individual rental (pay-per-view) will continue to be offered without restriction.

We use cookies to offer you an individually customized service (for details see our privacy policy.) By continuing to surf on cinefile.ch you agree to our cookie policy.

So geht's

Alles, was Sie über cinefile wissen wollen

Was ist cinefile?                                                                                                                               

Cinefile ist ein Filmportal, das alle relevanten Informationen zum kompletten Kinoprogramm der Schweiz mit einem kuratierten Streaming-Angebot und Bonusmaterial zu allen wichtigen Filmen vereint, genauer gesagt dies:

  • KINO: Das komplette Kinoprogramm der Schweiz, mit Inhaltsangaben, Trailern, Ratings und Kurzkritiken auf Deutsch, Französisch und Englisch, angeordnet oder gefiltert nach Ihren Vorlieben. Alle Filme, die Sie interessieren, können Sie in ihrer persönlichen Watchlist speicheren und nach diversen Kriterien sortieren.
  • STREAMING: Eine Auswahl der besten neuen Kinofilme zur Einzelmiete, laufend ergänzt um Reprisen und Klassiker, alle in HD und Originalversion mit frei wählbaren Untertiteln, teilweise auch in deutschen oder französischen Synchronfassung.
  • BONUS: Besprechungen, Videoessays, Live-Interviews, Porträts zu allen Streaming- und vielen Kinofilmen. Und vor allem: Tausende von Trouvaillen aus dem weltweiten Netz der Cinéphilie.

 

Wer betreibt cinefile? 

Cinefile ist eine in Zürich beheimatete GmbH, die vom ehemaligen Filmjournalisten und Programmkinobetreiber Andreas Furler seit 2016 aufgebaut worden und seit 2018 live geschaltet ist.

Das kleine cinefile-Team besteht aus Angefressenen aus den Bereichen Filmjournalismus, Filmwissenschaft, Marketing und ist geographisch in der Schweiz, in Deutschland und in Frankreich zu Hause.

 

Wen will cinefile ereichen?

Cinefile ist als praktischer, kostenfreier und werbefinanzierter Service für alle Leute gedacht, die gern ins Kino gehen und praktische Tools zur schnellen Wahl eines Films suchen.

Unserer Streaming-Library hat den Schwerpunkt beim internationalen und nationalen Arthouse-Kino und ist stark selektiv: Wir trennen die Spreu vom Weizen und publizieren nur, was wir für sehenswert halten, ganz gleich, ob Arthouse oder Mainstream, Klassiker oder neustes Indiekino.. Die Filme sind bis jetzt nur für Einzelausleihen (Pay per view) verfügbar, doch arbeiten wir intensiv an einem Flatrate-Angebot. (Mehr dazu bei der Frage «Was ist bei cinefile in Entwicklung?»)

Das Bonusmaterial zu den einzelnen Filmen mischt Videos und Texte und richtet sich an Leute, die  ihren Blick vor oder nach dem Seherlebnis auf unterhaltsame Weise erweitern wollen. Es versammelt Kritiken, Live-Interviess, Porträts und Essays, die vertiefende, bereichernde und auch kontroverse Ansätze bieten. Da dieser Service aufwändig ist, ist das Bonusmaterial unseren zahlenden Premium-Abonnenten vorbehalten.

 

Was bringt’s, wenn ich cinefile abonniere?

Die Basis-Registrierung bei cinefile ist gratis und garantiert, dass ihre persönlichen Einstellungen inklusive Watchlist auf allen Geräten jederzeit aktuell sind. Das Premium-Abo (CHF 6.- pro Monat) hält cinefile werbefrei, bietet den Zugang zum Bonusmaterial und Vergünstigung bei einzelnen Arthouse-Ketten und Events. Die vergleichende Leistungsübersicht finden Sie hier.

 

Gibt es einen Newsletter?                                                                                           

Ja, er enthält wöchentliche Tipps zu den aktuellen Kino- und Streamingpremieren sowie News zu Kinoevents und cinefile. Wer sich bei cinefile als Basis- oder Premium-AbonnentIn registriert, erhält den Newsletter automatisch, kann ihn aber selbstverständlich auch abbestellen.

 

Auf welchen Geräten kann ich cinefile nutzen und cinefile-Filme schauen?

Sie können cinefile mit allen gängigen Geräten und Browsern nutzen, die Website erkennt automatisch Desktop-Computer und Laptop, Tablets und iPhone und bietet ein entsprechend optimiertes, sogenanntes Responsive Design.
Auch cinefile-Filme können mit allen gängigen Geräten und Browsern gestreamt werden.

Für Smartphones empfehlen wir das Herunterladen unsere Gratis-Apps im App Store von Apple oder im Play Store von Google und beim Streamen von Filmen die kabellose Übertragung auf ihr Fernsehgerät mittels Google-Chromecast oder der Apple-TV-Box.    

 

Gibt es cinefile auch als App?

Ja, die Version für Android-Geräte wie Samsung und Huawei ist im im Google-Playstore schon erhältlich; die iPhone-App ist ab Mitte September 2019 bereit.

 

Wie kann ich mir gemietete Filme ansehen?

Sie müssen online sein, um cinefile-Filme zu streamen.
Sie können unsere Streaming-Filme mit allen gängigen Browseren auf allen gängigen Desktop- und Laptop-Computern, Tablets und Smartphones schauen. Die die Übertragung auf den Fernseher schliessen Sie ihren Laptop mit einem HDMI-Kabel an der entsprechenenden Buchse ihres TV-Geräts an.

Bequemer und meist auch qualitativ besser ist allerdings die kabellose Verbindung ihres Laptops, Tablets oder Smartphones mit einer Apple-TV-Box oder dem Chromecast-HDMI-Stecker vnn Google, die so erfolgt:

 

Apple-TV für Apple-Geräte

  • Schliessen sie Ihre Apple-TV-Box mit einem HDMI-Kabel am Fernseher an.
  • Stellen Sie sicher, dass die Box im gleichen WLAN-Netz angemeldet ist wie das Apple-Gerät (Laptop, iPhone oder iPad), mit dem sie cinefile-Filme streamen. Benutzen Sie dabei ausschliesslich den Safari-Browser.

Klicken Sie in ihrem cinefile-Browserfenster unten rechts auf das Air-Play-Symbol. Fertig!

Achtung: Mit den Symbolen Audio und cc können sie die verfügbaren Sprach- und Untertitelfassungen jederzeit auswählen. Zum Beenden der Übertragung klicken Sie erneut auf das Air-Play-Symbol.

 

Google Chromecast für Windows- und Android-Geräte

  • Schliessen sie Ihren Chromecast-Stecker mit einem HDMI-Kabel am Fernseher an.
  • Stellen Sie sicher, dass Chromecast im gleichen WLAN-Netz eingebunden ist wie ihr Laptop, Tablet oder Smartphone, mit dem sie cinefile-Filme streamen. Benutzen sie dabei ausschliesslich den Chrome-Browser.
  • Klicken Sie in ihrem cinefile-Browserfenster unten rechts auf das Chromecast-Symbol und wählen Sie Ihren Chromecast-Stecker unter dem von Ihnen definierten Namen aus. Fertig!

Achtung: Zuvor schon selektierte Sprachfassung und Untertitel können bei der Aktivierung der Übertragung verloren gehen und müssen auf ihrem Laptop, Tablet oder Smartphone unter Umständen nochmals aktiviert werden. Sie können verfügbare Sprachfassungen und Untertitel jederzeit ändern. Zum Beenden der Übertragung klicken Sie erneut auf das Chromecast-Symbol.

 

«Was ist bei cinefile in Entwicklung?»

Flatrate-Streaming: Wir arbeiten derzeit intensiv an einem Streaming-Flatrate-Abo für eine beschränkte Anzahl von Filmen, die sich laufend erneuern. Das entsprechende Angebot startet am 6. November 2019. Die bisherigen Streaming-Filme zur Einzelmiete (Pay-per-view) werden weiterhin uneingeschränkt angeboten.

Zur kostenlosen Registrierung
Wir verwenden Cookies, um Ihnen einen individuell angepassten Service zu bieten (Detailangaben hierzu in unserer Datenschutzerklärung.) Mit dem Weitersurfen auf cinefile.ch stimmen Sie unserer Cookie-Nutzung zu.