Ghost in the Shell

Mamoru Oshii, Japan, 1995o

s
vBack

Japan 2029: After countless tough missions, the special agent Major consists only of indestructible spare parts. Only her titanium brain shell contains a remnant of human cells. She no longer knows any physical limits. With the ability to short-circuit her own nervous system with computers, she becomes the adversary of an all-powerful hacker.

There are moments of sheer visual poetry in ‘Ghost in the Shell’: its crumbling metropolis is vaster and more detailed than anything this side of ‘Blade Runner’, and the interface between the real world and cyberspace is beautifully realised. The plot is impossibly dense and the characters – perhaps appropriately – feel like little more than cyphers, but for sheer mind-expanding sci-fi strangeness this is hard to beat.

Tom Huddleston

In the film’s centrepiece scene – one of the single greatest animated sequences ever created – Kusanagi wanders through the nameless city, while the people around her make their way silently from place to place, hypnotised by advertising, defeated by the rain. Is she still human? Are they? This is a work of profound and melancholic beauty; every bit as essential in the 21st century as it was in the 20th.

Robbie Collin

Galleryo

Movie Datao

Genre
Action, Animation, Science fiction
Running time
82 Min.
Original language
Japanese
Ratings
cccccccccc
ØYour rating7.9/10
IMDB user:
7.9 (155405)
cinefile-user:
< 10 votes
Critics:
< 3 votes q

Cast & Crewo

Atsuko TanakaMotoko Kusanagi (voice)
Akio OhtsukaBatou (voice)
Iemasa KayumiPuppetmaster (voice)
MORE>
We use cookies. By continuing to surf on cinefile.ch you agree to our cookie policy. For details see our privacy policy.

Ghost in the Shell

Mamoru Oshii, Japan, 1995o

s
vzurück

Japan 2029: Die Spezialagentin Major besteht nach unzähligen, harten Einsätzen nur noch aus unverwüstlichen Ersatzteilen. Einzig in ihrer Titan-Hirnschale befindet sich ein Rest menschlicher Zellen. Physikalische Grenzen kennt sie keine mehr. Mit der Fähigkeit, ihr eigenes Nervensystem mit Computern kurzzuschliessen, wird sie zur Gegenspielerin eines übermächtigen Hackers.

In Ghost in the Shell gibt es Momente purer visueller Poesie: Die zerfallende Metropole ist grösser und detaillierter als alles, was es jenseits von Blade Runner gibt, und die Schnittstelle zwischen der realen Welt und dem Cyberspace ist wunderbar umgesetzt. Die Handlung ist ungeheuer dicht, und die Charaktere wirken - vielleicht zu Recht - eher wie Chiffren. Aber wenn es darum geht, den eigenen Blick zu öffnen, ist dieser Film kaum zu übertreffen.

Tom Huddleston

In der zentralen Szene des Films - eine der großartigsten Animationssequenzen aller Zeiten - wandert Kusanagi durch die namenlose Stadt, während die Menschen um sie herum schweigend von Ort zu Ort ziehen, hypnotisiert von der Werbung, erschlagen vom Regen. Ist sie noch ein Mensch? Sind sie es? Dies ist ein Werk von tiefgründiger und melancholischer Schönheit, das im 21. Jahrhundert genauso wichtig ist wie im 20.

Robbie Collin

Galerieo

Filmdateno

Genre
Action, Animation, Science Fiction
Länge
82 Min.
Originalsprache
Japanisch
Bewertungen
cccccccccc
ØIhre Bewertung7.9/10
IMDB-User:
7.9 (155316)
Cinefile-User:
< 10 Stimmen
KritikerInnen:
< 3 Stimmen q

Cast & Crewo

Atsuko TanakaMotoko Kusanagi (voice)
Akio OhtsukaBatou (voice)
Iemasa KayumiPuppetmaster (voice)
MEHR>
Wir verwenden Cookies. Mit dem Weitersurfen auf cinefile.ch stimmen Sie unserer Cookie-Nutzung zu. Mehr Infos in unserer Datenschutzerklärung.